L’été à Paris : Week 4

Bonjour!

As of today, I am officially halfway through my time in Europe…and I am already mentally planning my return trip to Paris. Eventually I am just going to have to give up jumping back and forth across the pond and move here!

Monday (June 5th) was, as I mentioned in the previous post, a national holiday and I took advantage of the day off of work by shopping in Les Halles and trying Berthillion ice cream (the best in Paris) on Île Saint Louis with other students.

Thursday Maud gave a tour of Inavladies, the old veteran hospital of which part is still infuse today, and Musée d’Orsay. Invalides is enormous, and in the dome lies the tombs of Napoleon I and III.

(click on the images to see larger versions)

Friday I, along with the group of students in the program, had the opportunity to visit Le Figaro! The oldest daily newspaper in France that is still in print, we were able to tour the building, sit in on the daily editor meeting, and even see the archives (needless to say, I was freaking out the entire time). The visit made me appreciate the French newspaper system even more, and I will be writing an article about the visit.

Afterwards, we toured le Palais Garnier, the famous Parisian opera house, and ate dinner on a boat docked in the Seine river.

Saturday I went to Fontainebleau with Davis and Maddie and we spent the afternoon exploring the castle, including rowing a boat in the lake in front of it! And (of course) we ended the day with a picnic in the Fontainebleau forest which surrounds the city of the same name.

File_006File_007Processed with VSCO with a6 presetFile_005

Until next week!

Bisous,

Lucie

Leave a Reply

