Stockholm : July 10-13

With my internship completed in Paris, I used the last week of my time in Europe to the fullest by traveling to Stockholm and Prague. I spent my time staying in hostels and exploring the cities.

View upon the Old Town. Stockholm, Sweden

 

Stockholm is such a clean and efficient city, full of tall beautiful people who work and live on the fourteen islands which make up the city.

On the island of Djurgarden is created of parks and museums, one of which being Skansen, the world’s first outdoor ‘living’ museum. The history of Sweden is shown in traditional houses, villages, animals, and nature.

IMG_4670

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
A Swedish style fence that my Dad tried to copy for a garden his own

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

On another island lies Gama Stan, the Old Town of Stockholm, with brightly colored houses and the Royal Palace. The winding cobblestone streets of the small island occasionally reveal surprise courtyards, thrift stores or jazz clubs…

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetIMG_4773

Sweden is not only full of history, but also art. I visited the Modern Art Museum on the small island of Skeppsholmen. The museum was free for the permanent exhibits which included Matisse, Picasso, Braque and Munch.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

The weather turned a bit rainy so I continued my museum day with the Nordic Museum which celebrates Swedish culture and history.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

I devoted my third day to the Royal Palace and exploring the city more (by foot) and met up with some locals and some other people from the hostel later in the evening.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Early (4am!) the next morning, with the sun already risen I made my way to the airport, off to explore more!

Bisous,

Lucie

Leave a Reply

